Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, business, classified and more! News you can use every day.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in the area.
Local Sports

Area roundup: Lewis' Planek receives national AD honor

ROMEOVILLE – Lewis Director of Athletics Dr. John Planek was named among the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year.

The award spans seven divisions (NCAA FBS, FCS, Division I-AAA, II III, NAIA/other four-year institutions and junior/community colleges), with four honorees in each for a total of 28 winners. All 28 will be recognized during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon June 29 at NACDA’s 53rd annual convention at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in Washington, D.C.

Planek is in is his sixth year at Lewis, highlighted by the men’s volleyball runner-up finish in the 2015 NCAA Division I tournament.

Lewis had a 92 percent academic success rate in 2017 and a cumulative GPA of 3.32 in 2016-17. There have been 25 Academic All-Americans and 13 teams received Academic All-GLVC awards in 2015-16 and 2016-17. The past three school years have seen Lewis earn two top-10 finishes in the NCAA Division II Learfield Directors’ Cup. The Flyers finished fourth in 2015, sixth in 2016. The fourth place was the highest in school history and the back-to-back top 10 finishes is the best two-year stretch.


Four to join Lewis athletic hall: Lewis University will induct former student-athletes Kasia Arient (women’s cross country/track & field), Joe Lorenz (baseball), Mathias Luhr (men’s soccer) and Leszek (Les) Stoklosa (men’s cross country/track & field) into the Lewis Athletics Hall of Fame (March 15) as part of the second annual Flyer Red Dinner. Former Lewis Executive Vice President Wayne Draudt also will be recognized as the Lasallian of the Year.

The Flyer Red Dinner will be held at Drury Lane Theatre & Conference center in Oakbrook Terrace. Doors open at 6:30 p.m. To register and for information on partnership opportunities contact Brian Sisson at 815-836-5228 or at


St. Francis wins pair: The Saints won their fourth in a row after sweeping Concordia (Neb.), 3-1, and Fisher, 17-0. In the opener, Anna Wetherell and Ally Balandis each had two hits, while Morghan Dieringer threw a five-hitter and struck out eight. In the finale, Brooke Karraker had three hits and three RBIs, while Taylor Barsz allowed one hit in five innings.

Lewis earns split: The Flyers beat Ferris State, 9-1, and lost to Saint Rose, 7-3. Emily Guske and Cierra Taylor each had four hits, Sarah Demasi (homer) drove in three runs and Kaylee Prieto homered. In game two, Prieto had two hits and drove in two runs.


Minnesota State 10, Lewis 3: Connor Rutherford (home run) had two hits and drove in a run, while Anthony Rios also homered.

Loading more