Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, business, classified and more! News you can use every day.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in the area.
Local Election

Republicans hold majority for Will County Board

Stay informed with Shaw Local's Election Central. Research your ballot, where the candidates stand on the issues and set yourself up with a reminder to vote.

The Will County Board will continue to include a Republican majority after Tuesday’s election, according to preliminary reports from the Will County Clerk’s Office.

With 300 of 300 precincts reporting, the only district with a partisan makeup that is changing is District 10, which covers parts of Joliet, Shorewood and Plainfield. In that district, long-time Democrat board members Joseph Babich and Steven Wilhelmi did not run for re-election. Taking their seats are Democrat Tyler Marcum and Republican Gloria Dollinger.

After Tuesday’s races, the new board will include 16 Republicans and 10 Democrats.

Each district elected two representatives to serve as its County Board members.

The only incumbent to be unseated was District 1 Democrat Robert Howard.

District 1

Laurie Summers (D) – 11,121

Judy Ogalla (R, incumbent) – 9,249

Robert E. Howard (D, incumbent) – 7,010

Natalie Murawksi (R) – 6,664

District 3

Beth Rice (D, incumbent) – 11,292

Donald Moran (D, incumbent) – 6,973

S. James Boudouris (R) – 6,114

Raquel Mitchell (R) – 5,784

District 4

Jacqueline Traynere (D, incumbent) – 11,382

Kenneth Harris (D, incumbent) – 7,050

Thomas Gilligan (R) – 6,333

District 6

Don Gould (R, incumbent) – 14,871

Ragan Freitag (R, incumbent) – 11,567

Joe VanDuyne (D) – 10,866

District 7

Steve Balich (R, incumbent) – 12,902

Mike Fricilone (R, incumbent) – 10,760

Kyle Killacky (D) – 8,772

District 8

Herbert Brooks Jr. (D, incumbent) – 9,353

Denise Winfrey (D, incumbent) – 7,487

Leonard Thompson Jr. (R) – 3,423

District 10

Tyler Marcum (D) – 9,340

Gloria Dollinger (R) – 8,023

Joe Carlasare (D) – 7,786

David Talarico (R) – 7,428

District 12

Tom Weigel (R, incumbent) – 15,065

Ray Tuminello (R, incumbent) – 13,505

Larry Gilman (D) – 8,992

District 13

Mark Ferry (D, incumbent) – 10,076

Tim Kraulidis (R) – 9,436

Brenda Morse (R) – 8,619

Bill Thoman (D) – 7,048

Loading more