Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, business, classified and more! News you can use every day.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in the area.
Local News

Area candidates file petitions for municipal, school board races in April

Candidates running to represent municipal and school district governments in the April 4, 2017 election began filing petitions Monday in communities throughout the Joliet area.

Candidates have through Dec. 19 to submit petitions.


Channahon Village Board incumbents Chantal Host, Mark Scaggs and Sam Greco and non-incumbent Steve Czyz all filed petitions simultaneously at 8:30 a.m. Monday to run for three seats on the board.


Current Mayor Raymond R. Soliman is seeking re-election and submitted petitions Monday. John S. Vershay also filed petitions to run for mayor.

Seeking re-election are incumbents: City Clerk Vicki Hackney, City Treasurer Glen Conklin, Ward 1 Alderman Scott Dyke, Ward 2 Alderman Barbara Sklare and Ward 4 Alderman Charles Convery. Marco Coladipietro is running for Ward 3 alderman.


As of about noon Monday, incumbent Mayor Steven Streit had filed for re-election, as had incumbent Ward 3 Alderman Darren Deskin.

Catherine Perretta filed petitions to run for fourth ward alderwoman and Christina Bergbower filed petitions to run for second ward alderwoman.


Though 12 people pulled petitions for four open spots on the Plainfield Village Board, including the role of village president, just three submitted them Monday. Village Clerk Michelle Gibas said all three were submitted at 9 a.m. Monday.

Incumbent Mayor Mike Collins filed for re-election, as did incumbent trustees Margie Bonuchi and Garrett Peck. Trustee Jim Racich's term is also over in April, and he did pull petitions, but did not submit them Monday.


Filing Monday to run for the Joliet Public Schools District 86 board were incumbent Gwen Ulmer and Sanina "Nina" Campbell for the sole East Side seat and Loretta Westbrooks for one of two West Side seats.


Mary "Meg" Cappel was the only candidate to file petitions Monday to run for one of three seats on the District 204 board.


For Lincoln-Way District 210, incumbents Joseph M. Kosteck and Dee Molinare as well as non-incumbents Aaron Janik, Beth Janus-Doyle, Karen Town, Catherine Vasilakis Pleasant, Gus Yiakos and Ben Yomtoob all filed their petitions simultaneously Monday.

A simultaneous filing lottery will be held 9 a.m. Dec. 28 to select their ballot positions.

The eight candidates are vying for one of five seats on the board.


Incumbents David W. Koch and Rodney (Rod) Westfall are each running to continue representing Plainfield District 202 as board members and will participate in a simultaneous filing lottery to determine their ballot position.

Robert C. Smith also filed to run Monday for one of the four seats up for election.

Officials handling petition filing for the villages of Shorewood and New Lenox did not immediately respond Monday to a request for candidate information.

Senior Reporter Bob Okon contributed to this story.

Loading more