Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, business, classified and more! News you can use every day.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in the area.

Local leagues announce all-conference hoops squads

The Suburban Prairie Conference recently announced who made its all-conference squads for both boys and girls.

On the boys’ side, Oswego East’s Ray J Dennis was named the league’s Most Valuable Player.

Local squads were represented by the following players:

• Jamere Hill, Joliet West

• DeeJay Holmes, Joliet Central

• Dakoda Joachim, Joliet Central

• Maurice McCullum, Plainfield Central

• Yamani Shareef, Plainfield East

• Brandon Shoemaker, Plainfield Central

• Destin Whitaker, Romeoville

For the girls, Minooka’s Cierra Bachman was selected as the league’s MVP, as well as earning an all-conference nod.

Here are the other local players selected to the all-conference team:

• Shaunton Brown, Joliet Central

• Kachae Donald, Plainfield Central

• Tamia Edom, Plainfield East

• Jazz Evans, Joliet West

• Annaliese Griffin, Plainfield Central

• Savannah Johnson, Minooka

• Shannon Smith, Plainfeld South

• Jalysa Stokes, Joliet Central

Also in girls basketball, the SouthWest Suburban Conference released its all-conference squad.

In the Red division, Lincoln-Way West’s Taylor Gugliuzza was honored with that division’s Athlete of the Year.

Aside from the Athlete of the Year honoree, here are the other local players that were tabbed with all-conference selections:

• Abi Baumgartner, Lincoln-Way Central

• Tara Hastings, Lincoln-Way West

• Elena Knebel, Lockport

• Regan LoConte, Lincoln-Way Central

• Jayden Marable, Bolingbrook

• Danyel Middleton, Bolingbrook

• Katchie Savic, Lincoln-Way East

• Kaley Sheehan, Lincoln-Way West

• Treasure Thompson, Bolingbrook

Loading more