Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, business, classified and more! News you can use every day.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in the area.
Local News

LIVE UPDATES: Will County area 2019 consolidated election

County Clerk employees exit the Will County Building on Tuesday, April 4, 2017, in Joliet, Ill.
County Clerk employees exit the Will County Building on Tuesday, April 4, 2017, in Joliet, Ill.

Will County area voters went to the polls Tuesday to vote in the consolidated election.

Here are unnofficial results for area contested races. Visit The Herald-News Election Central 2019 for more information on the candidates.

City of Braidwood mayor

Robert Jones: 403 votes

James Vehrs: 365 votes

Richard Girot: 342 votes

James A. Hutton: 223 votes

Write-in: 7 votes

City of Braidwood commissioner

of finance and accounts

Wayne T. Saltzman: 733 votes

William Rulien: 571 votes

City of Braidwood commissioner public health and safety

Charles O. Hart: 664 votes

Michael Colavecchi: 617 votes

City of Braidwood commissioner streets and public improvements

Fay Smith: 678 votes

Adam M. Beaty: 630 votes

City of Braidwood commissioner

of public property

Douglas Money: 696 votes

Joseph Hudetz: 544 votes

Reed-Custer School District 255-U

Chris T. Cavanaugh: 1,040 votes

Gregory Boyer: 892 votes

Amanda Hohenstein: 836 votes

City of Crest Hill alderman Ward 2

Claudia Pilar Gazal: 242 votes,
73.56 percent

Giovan A. Cullotta Sr.: 87 votes, 26.44 percent

City of Crest Hill alderman Ward 4

Joe Kubal: 432 votes, 59.18 percent

Scott Pointon: 298 votes, 40.82 percent

City of Joliet councilman District 1

Larry E. Hug: 726 votes, 62.91 percent

Marc P. Ragusa: 428 votes, 37.09 percent

City of Joliet councilman District 2

Patrick Mudron: 1,682 votes,
56.42 percent

Vincent Alessio: 938 votes,
31.47 percent

Roger W. Powell: 361 votes,
12.11 percent

City of Joliet councilman District 3

Sharon “Sherri” Reardon: 1,045 votes

Joe Mutz: 808 votes

Write-in: 59 votes

City of Joliet councilman District 4

Bettye Gavin: 520 votes, 43.92 percent

Damon Zdunich: 336 votes,
28.38 percent

James Foster: 328 votes, 27.70 percent

City of Joliet councilman District 5

Terry Morris Sr.: 1,056 votes,
62.45 percent

Suzanna Ibarra: 635 votes, 37.55 percent

Joliet park commissioner

Kevin Paul: 4,307 votes

Jennifer Jobe-Gavin: 3,751 votes

Laraway School District 70-C

Saul Brass: 158 votes

Lucrisha Washington: 156 votes

Gary E. Knight: 142 votes

Michelle Matenaer: 118 votes

City of Lockport alderman Ward 2

J.R. Gillogly: 492 votes, 74.32 percent

Daniel J. Kida: 170 votes, 25.68 percent

Lockport Township District 205 (full)

Michael Lewandowski: 4,121 votes

Veronica Tylka-Shaw: 3,872 votes

Richard Ives: 3,663 votes

Lockport Township fire trustee

John Batusich: 2,608 votes

Henry Meader: 2,272 votes

City of Wilmington alderman Ward 2


Dennis P. Vice: 100 votes

Isaac James Orr: 70 votes

Darla Neises: 21 votes

City of Wilmington alderman Ward 2


Floyd H. Combes: 152 votes

Robert “Bob” Neises: 38 votes

Wilmington Library trustee (full)

Mary M. Fitzsimmons: 474 votes

Diana M. Zolecki-Browning:
434 votes

Christine L. Reigh: 426 votes

Village of Bolingbrook trustee

Sheldon L. Watts: 4,039 votes

Mary Sabri-Alexander-Basta:
3,730 votes

Michael J. Carpanzano: 3,728 votes

Village of Manhattan trustee

Erin E. McDonough: 362 votes,
25.71 percent

Robert A. Dilling: 316 votes,
22.44 percent

Michael R. Naughton: 303 votes, 21.52 percent

Bolingbrook park commissioner

Dorothy J. Andrews: 3,421 votes

Sue Vastalo: 3,410 votes

Jerry L. Hix: 3,359 votes

Fountaindale Library trustee


Margaret J. (Peggy) Danhof:
3,690 votes

Celeste M. Bermejo: 2,746 votes

Village of Channahon trustee

Scott Slocum: 964 votes

Scott McMillin: 871 votes

Patricia Perinar: 838 votes

Channahon School District 17

Christine Bucciarelli: 631 votes

Kevin Murphy: 616 votes

Julie Bankes: 558 votes

Village of Elwood trustee (full)

Tricia Lynn Maas: 222 votes

Michael James Varman: 177 votes

Darryl P. Lab: 158 votes

Village of Elwood trustee (two-year)

Jodie Ann Bertucci: 225 votes

Joseph ‘Spike’ Berscheid: 186 votes

Village of Frankfort trustee

Adam Borrelli: 1,353 votes

Margaret M. Farina: 1,303 votes

Jessica Petrow: 1,196 votes

Frankfort School District 157-C

Michael G. Bouck: 1,351 votes

Brian Skibinski: 1,291 votes

Edith Lutz: 1,284 votes

Larry Kociolek: 1,209 votes

Village of Minooka trustee

Barry A. Thompson: 716 votes

Dennis P. Martin: 653 votes

Richard L. Parrish: 625 votes

Minooka School District 201 (full)

Emily Conquest: 2,150 votes

Alan Skwarczynski: 1,785 votes

Kimberly Schieberl-Fisher:
1,642 votes

Minooka School District 111

Lori Lakota: 2,319 votes

Dustin Heap: 1,812 votes

Laura Prosise Hrechko: 1,697 votes

Village of New Lenox trustee

Douglas E. Finnegan: 1,195 votes

David L. Butterfield: 1,106 votes

Keith C. Madsen: 1,103 votes

New Lenox Library trustee

Bonnie Ulstad: 1,475 votes

Michelle DeBella Monbrod:
1,370 votes

Alex Vancina: 1,310 votes

City of Wilmington alderman Ward 3

Ben Dietz: 127 votes

Frances L. Tutor: 120 votes

Village of Plainfield trustee

Brian “Wojo” Wojowski: 1,232 votes

Kevin M. Calkins: 1,194 votes

Harry Benton: 1,106 votes

Plainfield School District 202

Heather Drake: 4,028 votes

Joette Doyle: 3,424 votes

Kevin Kirberg: 3,120 votes

Plainfield fire trustee

William A. Barnes: 1,718 votes

Theodore Peszynski: 1,310 votes

White Oak Library trustee

E. Gayle Crompton: 3,660 votes

Zachary W. Binkley: 3,034 votes

JJC board of trustees

Nancy Garcia: 19,886 votes

John (Jake) Mahalik: 18,553 votes

Mike O’Connell: 17,814 votes

Troy School District 30-C board

Kristin Cross: 2,218 votes

J. Terry McFadden: 2,062 votes

Cynthia Jo Rasmussen: 2,032

Valley View School District 365-U

Diane Parro: 3,824 votes

Steven Quigley: 3,544 votes

James (JT) Boudouris: 3,240 votes

Will County School District 92

Nora C. Skentzos: 534 votes

Matthew Dusterhoft: 412 votes

Gwen Kenney-Benson: 402 votes

Joliet Township School District 204

Jim Allison: 5,142 votes

Michelle M. Stiff: 4,990 votes

Matthew Kennedy: 4,701 votes

David R. Skorupa: 4,632 votes

Lincoln-Way School District 210

Beth Janus-Doyle: 5,785 votes

Peter J. Wilkes: 5,192 votes

Joseph Kirkeeng: 5,046 votes

Richard C. LaCien Jr.: 3,815 votes


Joliet Park District referendum

No: 5,748 votes, 70.9 percent

Yes: 2,356 votes, 29.07 percent

White Oak Library referendum

No: 2,907 votes, 51.18 percent

Yes: 2,773 votes, 48.82 percent

Minooka School District 201


No: 2,397 votes

Yes: 2,176 votes

Troy fire referendum

No: 1,875 votes, 58.3 percent

Yes: 1,339 votes, 41.6 percent

Loading more